My final staff picks of the semester!

Ladies and Gents,

There is good news on the horizon…in 3 days SUMMER will officially begin! To celebrate, I have assembled a list of some of my favorite tunes. This is my last staff pick blog of the semester so I hope you enjoy!

dreamgirls-musical

Dreamgirls – Original Broadway Recording (CD 10032): Everyone knows the movie version (if you don’t…go see it NOW) but did you know Dreamgirls is originally a musical? The soundtrack is one of the best with classics such as “And I am Telling You” and “One Night Only”. The voices on this CD are stunning and the songs are so catchy they will be stuck in your head for days.

Joni_Mitchell-Both_Sides_Now

Joni Mitchell – Both Sides Now (CD 9711): Miss Mitchell has always had a soft spot in my heart because I was raised listening to her albums over and over again due to my mother’s slight obsession with her. Her songs are timeless and have the ability to completely relax you. Just listen and see for yourself!

115433172

Afro-sambas – Baden Powell & Vinícius de Moraes (CD 3353): My two favorite world music genres are African and Brazilian so this CD combines the best of both worlds. Afro-samba is Brazilian music inspired by African beats and rhythms. The songs will immediately make you want to get up and dance even if you are incredibly uncoordinated like yours truly.

Beastie_Boys_3

Beastie Boys – Hello Nasty (CD 2391): The Beastie Boys are the longest-lived hip hop act in the world and their music never seizes to amaze me. Hello Nasty is filled with amazing creativity and depth, which has made it one of my favorite albums ever made. The death of MCA last year showed how loved the Beastie Boys are and always will be. They are pioneers in the rap world and their legacy will live forever.

250px-Woodstock_poster

Woodstock – 3 Days of Peace & Music 25th Anniversary Collection (CD 1268): This semester I took a class on the 1960’s and one of the main topics throughout the class was the power of music. The entire counterculture of the Sixties was expressed through music and the biggest gathering of this expression was of course…Woodstock. This anniversary collection includes all of the legends such as Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Country Joe and the Fish and more.

That’s all for now!

Have a great summer and don’t forget to swing by the Music Library because we will be open all break!

Cheers,

Eva

