Grace’s Staff Picks: A Cross-Section of Musicals

The music library has a huge collection of musical theater CDs, so I thought I’d post a cross-section for your perusal, from old classics to some of my newer favorites!

Memphis: Original Broadway Cast RecordingCD 5218

Covering all moods from swinging to soulful, Memphis is about prejudice, music and love.

Les Miserables: The 2010 Cast AlbumCD 5356

Familiarize yourself with the musical that recently took the big screen by storm, or delight your hipster soul in the knowledge that you’ve loved it for years already. Either way, I absolutely had to include Les Mis.

Fiddler On the Roof: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack RecordingCD 4006

Everybody knows the Fiddler On the Roof, and if you don’t, now’s your chance! This is music that I never get tired of.

Little Women The Musical: Original Broadway Cast RecordingCD 3632

I got to see this musical when it toured, starring Sutton Foster and Maureen McGovern, and ever since then I’ve been in love with it. If you liked the book, or are just a musical theater buff, you’ll almost definitely enjoy this too.

Oliver!: Original Studio Cast RecordingCD 5142

