Alex’s Staff Picks: Star Whatever…

I dig sci-fi. Anyone who has been in my apartment has seen the picture of Yoda above my bed and the large collections of Isaac Asimov, Robert Heinlein, Jack McDevitt, Arthur C. Clark and Stephen Baxter on my book shelf. I chuckle at every toungue in cheek reference made by John Scalzi and I choose the video games I play because they have space ships in them. Therefore, it was only a matter of time before I took this obsession of mine and applied it to my staff picks. Here we are, five Sci-Fi themed soundtracks from out CD collection.

Star Trek TNG: Encounter at Farpoint CD 9654

Despite my introduction, don’t instantly categorize me as a Trekkie. I won’t go out of my way to view any of the series. Regardless, I had to put this first on my list. Encounter at Farpoint was the first episode of Star Trek TNG, a series that many fans declare to be the best of the bunch. The music brings me back to my childhood where I would sit and watch TNG with my parents. I had no idea what was happening or why people were jumping around whenever the camera shook, but I did think the music was really awesome. The title theme is one of the most iconic sounds of the entire genre.

Speaking of iconic sounds…

Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

CD 2167

Star Wars is so popular, its hard to go a day without hearing or seeing something related to the series. Now, thanks to Disney, we’ll be receiving more of that no good, scruffy looking, nerfherding goodness. So, this was a shoe in for the list. However, there still were 6 soundtracks available to pick from, not to mention a score of spin-offs and compilations. How to choose?

The prize had to go to something from the original series. Don’t get me wrong, I like the new trilogy’s soundtracks just as well, but they lack the nostalgia effect. Besides the prequel trilogy comes with baggage… repressed memories of a certain annoying gungan. From there, the choice was simple. RotJ has the best sounding soundtrack. Besides the main themes, the Endor tracks are amazing. If only the Ewoks were as engaging and well developed as their background music…

Jurassic Park:

CD 1215

You don’t always need spaceships and fancy make-up to call it sci-fi. Sometimes, you just need Dinosaurs cloned using frog DNA. Stand alone, I would say that the soundtrack is actually better than the movie… Really, its that good!

Escape from New York

CD 1568

What’s that? You needed more Kurt Russel in your life? Great! This sequel is for you then. The soundtrack is a killer example of the dis-topic future genre and features several tracks written by the director of the film; John Carpenter.

Waterworld

CD 2616

Because Kevin Costner… Yeah, Kevin Costner.

No no no no no… Just Kevin Costner

