Eva’s Eclectic Picks

Hello dear friends of the Music Library and happy first day of class!

The last 5 months I have been studying at Trinity College in Dublin, which has been an absolutely wonderful experience. Ireland eats, sleeps and breathes music and you can find live singers and musicians at any time on any day in any pub. I am very excited to be joining the Music Library team again and can’t wait for all of the new music this semester!

Here is a crazy eclectic mix to satisfy whatever mood you are in this first week of school…thrilled/anxious/exhausted and so on (I’m a combination of all three):

UMG_cvrart_00602537263639_01_RGB72_1500x1500_12UMGIM64264.200x200-75

  • Les MiseĢrables (CD 5356) ~ The film version just won 3 Golden Globes awards last night…enough said.
  • Mumford & Sons – Babel (CD 9963) ~ One of my all-time favorite bands and this CD never gets old.
  • Acoustic Brazil (CD 5027) ~ I traveled around Brazil this past summer and fell in love with their vibrant folklore music.
  • Bob Dylan – The Bootleg Series (CD 9058) ~ I’m a firm believer that a little Bob Dylan can fix anything. This is the most recent addition to the Music Library’s extremely thorough Dylan collection.
  • Wicked Musical Soundtrack (CD 3128) ~ Seeing Wicked has been on my musical to-do list for years and I was finally able to see it this winter. It was amazing and I ended up having the entire soundtrack stuck in my head for a week. This CD features the original cast members Idina Menzel and Kristin Chenoweth who are Musical Theater legends.
  • Frank Sinatra in Hollywood (CD 5222) ~All of Frank’s movie gems in one CD…what could be better?
I warned you it would be eclectic….!
Have a great first week of school and be sure to swing by the Music Library to stock up on new musical goodies.
