Robert’s Staff Picks!

 

My staff picks are all over the place this week.

DVD 327 – The Audition:  This is a great DVD for those who enjoy opera or are training to be opera singers.  The documentary offers a look at the Metropolitan Opera’s National Council Auditions, where each year thousands of hopefuls face their fears and compete for a cash prize, the chance to sing on the Met stage–and the opportunity to launch a major operatic career.

CD 9808– Intuitivo:  The music on this CD was composed by AU’s own Fernando Benadon.  Professor Benadon describes this CD as “A collage of free improvisations.  My goal was to shape the players’ raw individual ideas into a spontaneously ‘coherent’ whole, all the while preserving and highlighting their unique subtleties of time and timbre.”

DVD 166 – Def Leppard/Hysteria – I really enjoy listening to Def Leppard when I’m not listening to classical music.  This is a really great track-by-track review of Def Leppard’s Hysteria album.

CD 5138 – Elvis at Sun (Studios) –  I’m pretty sure this has been on my staff picks before, but I can’t get enough Elvis. Take this CD home and listen to it over the weekend!

I also encourage everyone to check out Medici TV so you can watch Dr. Atomic!!! Use our databases!!!

 

 

