Eva’s Staff Picks

As the only non-music or performing arts staff member, my music taste definitely differs from the rest of my wonderful colleagues (so don’t expect anything classical on this list!) . My taste ranges from acoustic rock to Broadway and world music. Here are a few of my go-to CD’s in the Music Library.

Freewheelin’ – Bob Dylan : I’m a huge Bob Dylan fan and Freewheelin’ is by far my favorite album.Masters of War will never seize to amaze me.(CD 9414)

Africa, South of the Sahara : African music is so unique and mesmerizing, which is why it’s one of my favorite genre’s to listen to. The rhythm and beats on this CD are brilliant. (CD 4832)

Fela! : I saw this phenomenal musical, based on the life of Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, on the West End in London and was delighted when it arrived in the Music Library. Besides being an amazing performance to watch, the soundtrack is one of the best I’ve ever heard. It incorporates Fela’s original songs such as BID (Breaking it down) as a way of telling his life story.(CD 5286)

The Lion King – Broadway Soundtrack: I am not ashamed to admit that The Lion King is my absolute favorite musical (I’ve seen at four times…). The incredible music obviously has a lot to do with! With classics such as The Circle of Life and Can You Feel The Love Tonight, you really can’t go wrong.(CD 3127)

Avenue Q – Broadway Soundtrack: I don’t really think this CD needs a lot of explanation. It’s ridiculous, it’s foul, it’s hilarious….it’s AWESOME. (CD 3131)

Have a great weekend and happy listening!

 Image

