Johanna’s Picks! (aka The Best)

Here are some of my favorite CDs at the Music Library, they range in content from silly to serious.

Creampuffs From Vienna –  I love Viennese waltzes and this CD is chock full of them! Plus it has a silly name.  (CD 8063)

Kronos Quartet Performs Philip Glass – This is an amazing recording, I would especially recommend the last movement of the Mishima Quartet (No 3). (CD 6835)

The Goat Rodeo Sessions – If you haven’t heard of Goat Rodeo, or had a chance to listen to this album, now is the time to check it out. Featured on the Colbert Report, this CD is more than likely to brighten your day. Plus Yo Yo Ma! (CD 9529)

The Mystery Sonatas – This set of violin sonatas by early composer Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber uses scordatura, where the strings of the violin are tuned differently from their normal pitches. I’m working on a few of these for my senior recital which you should all go to! (CD 9523)

Little Richard, The Georgia Peach – Need I say more? (CD 9544)

